Town of Oakville Council officially sworn into office at inauguration ceremony

Tuesday, December 02, 2014 – for immediate release

Town of Oakville Council officially sworn into office at inauguration ceremony

It was a full house for the public reception and Inaugural Council meeting for the 2014-2018 Oakville Town Council last night at Town Hall.

“Together we’re acting to define Oakville now and for future generations of Oakville residents,” said Mayor Rob Burton. “Over the next four years, we’ll move forward on our path to an even more livable and sustainable community.”

The Mayor and 12 Town and Regional Councillors were officially sworn into office by the Honourable Mr. Justice Jamie K. Trimble. Rabbi Stephen Wise of the Shaarei Beth El Congregation and Chairperson of the Interfaith Council of Halton, delivered the invocation.
Oakville MPP Kevin Flynn also attended the ceremony and brought greetings on behalf of Premier Kathleen Wynn and the Government of Ontario.

Mayor Rob Burton delivered an Inaugural Address that spoke to Council’s many accomplishments. He also touched on how relying on our core values as a town will allow us to successfully meet the challenges we face going forward.

“We start this new term of Council with a shared commitment to acting in the best interest of our constituents and our community,” said Mayor Burton. “By consulting Oakville residents and working towards realizing our vision of creating Canada’s most livable town, we are capable of overcoming any challenge set before us and achieving our goals.”

At the meeting, the 2015 Council and Standing Committee schedule of meetings was approved, and Council appointments to the various advisory boards and committees were announced. Review the December 1, 2014, Council agenda for more information.

The following is the 2014-2018 Oakville Town Council:

Rob Burton — Mayor
Sean O’Meara — Ward 1 Town and Regional Councillor
Ralph Robinson — Ward 1 Town Councillor
Cathy Duddeck — Ward 2 Town and Regional Councillor
Pam Damoff — Ward 2 Town Councillor
Dave Gittings — Ward 3 Town and Regional Councillor
Nick Hutchins — Ward 3 Town Councillor
Allan Elgar — Ward 4 Town and Regional Councillor
Roger Lapworth — Ward 4 Town Councillor
Jeff Knoll — Ward 5 Town and Regional Councillor
Marc Grant — Ward 5 Town Councillor
Tom Adams — Ward 6 Town and Regional Councillor
Max Khan — Ward 6 Town Councillor

The ceremony included piper Andrew Collins and singer Stephanie Barone, while the public reception prior to Council featured arrangements by harpist Sharlene Wallace and violinists of the Vivace Violin Ensemble from the Oakville Suzuki Association.

A video of the meeting is available on TownTV.

Sign up for the town’s RSS feeds

to get information delivered right to your desktop.

Originally from: 

Town of Oakville Council officially sworn into office at inauguration ceremony