Town announces 2017 Community Spirit Awards nominees

Thursday, May 11, 2017 – for immediate release

Town announces 2017 Community Spirit Awards nominees

Winners will be revealed at the awards ceremony on June 7

The Town of Oakville is excited to announce the 37 nominees for the 16th Annual Community Spirit Awards. Congratulations to the following individuals and organizations nominated for their dedication and commitment to the Oakville community:

Access Award – sponsored by Access Abilities

Bingo Rivera

Arts Award – sponsored by The Oakville Beaver

Diana Isherwood
Brenda Smith
William Smith
Wanyu Zhao

Group Volunteer Award – sponsored by Town of Oakville

100 Guys Who Care Oakville
Bronte Harbour Yacht Club
KSM’s Souper Kitchen Team
May Court Club of Oakville
Syrian Settlement Committee of St. Andrew’s Church
The Oakville Rotaract Club

Heritage Award – sponsored by Genworth Financial Canada

Mary Davidson

Individual Volunteer Award – sponsored by Paradiso Restaurant

Janet Barber
Carol Crowe
Stephen Dankowich
Dennis Ford
Julie Gladu
Anne Lamont
Kelly Luscombe
Carilyn McNaught
Lynn Pike
Jan Tingle
Haileigh Walsh
Barry Wylie

Senior Award – sponsored by Chartwell Waterford Retirement Residence

Clare Henderson
Carol Kelley
Margaret Larson
Peter Lowes
Alex and Jean Mason
Ralph Wallace

Youth Award – sponsored by RBC Royal Bank

Aiza Abid
Marica Pinnock
Michelle Rubach
Sydney Turner
Teen Tech Team
David Vidican
Wanyu Zhao

The winners will be announced at the Community Spirit Awards ceremony and reception on Wednesday, June 7 starting at 6:30 p.m. at Queen Elizabeth Park Community and Cultural Centre located at 2302 Bridge Road. Tickets for the event are available for $15 each through the Oakville Centre for the Performing Arts website or by calling the box office at 905-815-2021, Monday to Saturday from 11 a.m. to 5 p.m. There is no reserved seating for this event.

The 2017 Community Spirit Awards will be designed by local illustrator, designer and portrait artist Emily Soden. Emily works closely with oil, acrylic scratchboard and pencils, but her favourite mediums are watercolour and ink. Her commissions are inspired by nature and animals, often showcased as recurring themes in her work.

Visit our Oakville Community Spirit Awards page for more information.

Sign up for the town’s RSS feeds

to get information delivered right to your desktop.

View original article – 

Town announces 2017 Community Spirit Awards nominees