The nominees for Oakville’s 2010 Community Spirit Awards are…

In celebration of volunteerism, the Town of Oakville is excited to announce the nominees of this year’s Community Spirit Awards in the categories of Access, Arts, Environmental, Group Volunteer, Heritage and History, Individual Volunteer, International, Senior, and Youth.

This year’s nominees include:

Access Award – sponsored by MEDIchair Halton

Recognizes individuals, businesses or organizations that have made or are making a significant or ongoing contribution, beyond legislated requirements, to the well-being and advancement of people with disabilities. 

Steven Cull
Melissa Vassallo
Axel Krueger

Arts Award – sponsored by Oakville Beaver

Recognizes an individual or organization who, through their volunteerism, has contributed to nurturing and enhancing the arts in Oakville.

Bill Hewitt
The Oakville Art Society
John Serre
Britta Martini Miles
Lyn Estall

Environmental Award – sponsored by Tim Hortons

Recognizes an individual or organization whose outstanding voluntary contribution of environmental stewardship has helped to enhance or protect Oakville’s environment.

Diane Burton

Group Volunteer Award – sponsored by Sun Life Financial

Recognizes a group of three or more individuals who have come together to volunteer their time towards a shared goal/activity or event involving leadership, innovation and creativity. Activities or events can benefit all ages. 

Clearview Oakville Community Alliance
Enza Natural Health Centre and Day Spa
Ian Anderson House Volunteers
Melanoma Network of Canada
Dorothy, Rudy and Derek Friesen
South Central Oakville Residents Association

Heritage and History Award – sponsored by Genworth Financial Canada

Recognizes an individual or organization who has made an outstanding contribution to Oakville’s heritage and history by aiding in the preservation and celebration of Oakville’s natural, built and cultural heritage.

Jamie Macrae
Alexandra Fell
Michelle Knoll

Individual Volunteer Award – sponsored by Paradiso Restaurant

Recognizes an individual who has made an outstanding volunteer contribution towards improving the well-being of Oakville residents of any age group.

Michelle Bilek
Cathy Jackson
Doug MacKenzie
Eugenia Saccary
Marion Boyd 
Monika von Brisinski
Marilyn Allan
Dona Reid
Bev LeFrancois

International Award – sponsored by EllisDon

Recognizes an individual or organization who has made an outstanding voluntary contribution to an international initiative or project.

Canadians in Support of Afghan Women

Senior Award – sponsored by Sunrise Senior Living

Recognizes a senior (65 years and older) or group who has made an outstanding voluntary contribution to the Oakville community during their retirement years.

Bill Miller
Patti Eix
Ted Lambert
Terry Pondel
Father Peter Watters

Youth Award – sponsored by RBC Royal Bank

Recognizes a youth individual or group (18 years and under) who has made positive contributions towards enriching Oakville’s quality of life.

Vivian Leung

The Town of Oakville’s Community Spirit Awards will take place on Wednesday, June 16 from 5:30-9 p.m. at the Oakville Conference and Banquet Centre located at 2515 Wyecroft Road.

Tickets are now available for $30 per person, including dinner and the awards ceremony. To reserve your ticket, contact Louise Veres at 905-845-6601, ext. 3154 or at


For more information

Louise Veres
Recreation Supervisor
Town of Oakville
905-845-6601, ext. 3154

Sign up for the town’s RSS feeds

to get information delivered right to your desktop.

View article: 

The nominees for Oakville’s 2010 Community Spirit Awards are…