Oakville summer camp staff recognized for outstanding leadership

Tuesday, August 25, 2015 – for immediate release

Oakville summer camp staff recognized for outstanding leadership

Awards presented in memory of program leader Ray McConnell

The Town of Oakville’s Summer Sizzler day camp leaders, coordinators, staff and volunteers gathered at Town Hall last night to honour 2015 achievements and celebrate the end of another successful summer of programming.

“What an amazing summer! More than 9,000 campers took part in our camps this summer. This wouldn’t have been possible without the dedication and enthusiasm of our 160 summer camp leadership staff and volunteers,” said Nina de Vaal, director of Recreation and Culture for the Town of Oakville. “We applaud our staff for encouraging young campers to grow, develop and thrive through play.”

The awards night honoured the memory of Ray McConnell, a former leader in the Oakville Parks and Recreation Summer Activity Centre program from 1979 to 1981. McConnell tragically lost his life on September 1, 1982 in a motorcycle accident involving an impaired driver. He is remembered for his outstanding leadership and dedication to the town’s summer programs for children.

The Ray McConnell Memorial Leadership Award, presented by the McConnell family, is given to the summer camp staff member who best exemplifies leadership and contributes greatly to the Oakville community. Awards are also given for Rookie of the Year, HIGH FIVE® Champion, Extra Mile Club, 5-year Service and 10-year Service – awarded to staff members who have shown a commitment to adhering to the principles of the HIGH FIVE® program, and dedication to recreation services.

The 2015 Summer Camp Leadership Award recipients are:

Ray McConnell Memorial Leadership Award Winner: Lisa Robbins
Rookie of the Year Award: Adam Quesnel
HIGH FIVE Champion Award winners: Caroline Stricelj, Lauren Rzebecki, Megan D’Andreis, Patrick Gamble, D’Arcy Murphy
Extra Mile Club Award Winners: Liam Levasseur, Hilary Wilush, Sarah Scott, Sophie Nairn, Adrienne Henry, Nick Sernick, Andrea Joyce, Jenn Newman, Krista Madill
Five-year Service Award Winners: Daniel Cursio, Melissa Skippen, Andree Hauschild, Nicole Wirkowski

The Town of Oakville’s summer camps are geared toward children aged four to 12 and are accredited by the provincial HIGH FIVE® program. HIGH FIVE® supports the well-being of children and encourages healthy development in sport and recreational programs. Oakville’s day camps were the first in the Region of Halton to be accredited by the HIGH FIVE® program.

For more information on Oakville camps visit the summer camps page.

Sign up for the town’s RSS feeds

to get information delivered right to your desktop.

Visit source: 

Oakville summer camp staff recognized for outstanding leadership