Oakville Community Spirit Awards honour outstanding volunteers

Thursday, June 23, 2011 – for immediate release

Oakville Community Spirit Awards honour outstanding volunteers

Now in its 10th year, the Community Spirit Awards continue to prove that the spirit of volunteerism in Oakville is alive and well! A full-house packed the Oakville Conference Centre at last night’s awards ceremony, showcasing an impressive blend of volunteers—all passionate about their community.

“Without a doubt, volunteerism is the backbone of Oakville and what truly makes this town such a unique community,” Oakville Mayor Rob Burton said. “On behalf of Council, I congratulate and thank the recipients and nominees of this year’s Community Spirit Awards.”

MC Chris Mei, national prime time host on the Weather Network entertained the audience while sponsors handed out eight awards, beautifully hand-crafted glass sculptures created by artist Chris Laskey, a student from the Sheridan Institute of Technology and Advanced Learning’s Craft and Design program.

“We wish we could recognize each and every volunteer in Oakville,” Nina de Vaal, director of Recreation and Culture said. “This year’s nominees are incredibly diverse and have demonstrated innovative and creative ways to volunteer their time. We applaud you for making a difference in our community and encourage others to follow suit.”

Recipients of the 2011 Oakville Community Spirit Awards are:

Access Award: David Cole – sponsored by MEDIchair Halton
Arts Award: Stacey Sinclair – sponsored by the Oakville Beaver
Environmental Award: Lisa Seiler – sponsored by Tim Hortons
Group Volunteer Award: The May Court Club of Oakville – sponsored by Sun Life Financial
Heritage and History Award: Barbara Anne McAlpine – sponsored by Genworth Financial Canada
Individual Volunteer Award: Scott Snowball – sponsored by Paradiso Restaurant
Senior Award: Edel Brasher and Anna Pittens – sponsored by Sunrise Senior Living
Youth Award: Keelee Buhlau – sponsored by RBC Royal Bank

The Oakville Community Spirit Awards recognize individuals and groups for their outstanding contribution to the Oakville community. 


For more information:

Janine Ivings
Senior Communications Advisor
905-845-6601, ext. 3005

Sign up for the town’s RSS feeds

to get information delivered right to your desktop.

View the original here:  

Oakville Community Spirit Awards honour outstanding volunteers