Oakville announces nominees for 2011 Community Spirit Awards

In celebration of volunteerism, the Town of Oakville is excited to announce the nominees of the 10th Annual Community Spirit Awards in the categories of Access, Arts, Environmental, Group Volunteer, Heritage and History, Individual Volunteer, Senior, and Youth.

And the nominees are…

Access Award – sponsored by MEDIchair Halton
Recognizes individuals, businesses or organizations that have made or are making a significant or ongoing contribution, beyond legislated requirements, to the well-being and advancement of people with disabilities. 

David Cole

Arts Award – sponsored by The Oakville Beaver
Recognizes an individual or organization that, through their volunteerism, has contributed to nurturing and enhancing the arts in Oakville.

Palma McCullagh
Dawn Angela Seeley 
Stacey Sinclair

Environmental Award – sponsored by Tim Hortons
Recognizes an individual or organization whose outstanding voluntary contribution of environmental stewardship has helped to enhance or protect Oakville’s environment.

Karen Brock
Alexandra Fell
Lisa Seiler

Group Volunteer Award – sponsored by Sun Life Financial
Recognizes a group of three or more individuals who have come together to volunteer their time towards a shared goal/activity or event involving leadership, innovation and creativity. Activities or events can benefit all ages. 

Women of Halton Action Movement (WHAM)
Knights of Columbus Marian Council 388
May Court Club of Oakville
Canadian Caribbean Association of Halton
Big Brother/Big Sisters Oakwood Homework Club

Heritage and History Award – sponsored by Genworth Financial Canada
Recognizes an individual or organization that has made an outstanding contribution to Oakville’s heritage and history by aiding in the preservation and celebration of Oakville’s natural, built and cultural heritage.

Barbara McAlpine
David Crouse
Pam Culvert

Individual Volunteer Award – sponsored by Paradiso Restaurant
Recognizes an individual who has made an outstanding volunteer contribution towards improving the well-being of Oakville residents of any age group.

Wendy Belcher 
Sera Mansueto 
Scott Snowball 
Brian Yager 
Wade Pitman
Lisa Weis
Kimberley Ford
George Chisholm
Betty Smith 
Margaret Nelson
George Farrow
Angela Borgeest

Senior Award – sponsored by Sunrise Senior Living
Recognizes a senior (65 years and older) or group that has made an outstanding voluntary contribution to the Oakville community during their retirement years.

Anna Pittens 
Edel Brasher
Molly Copping 
Jean Beaumont

Youth Award – sponsored by RBC Royal Bank
Recognizes a youth individual or group (18 years and under) that has made positive contributions towards enriching Oakville’s quality of life.

Simon Harmgardt 
Keelee Buhlau
Niall Harnett

The Town of Oakville’s Community Spirit Awards will take place on Wednesday, June 22 from 5:30-9 p.m. at the Oakville Conference and Banquet Centre located at 2515 Wyecroft Road. Tickets are now available for $30 per person, including dinner and the awards ceremony.  Tickets can be purchased at the Town of Oakville Recreation and Culture department, 1225 Trafalgar Road or by calling 905-338-4250.

For more information about the nominees visit the Community Spirt Awards web page.


For more information

Susan Fanelli
Recreation Supervisor
905-845-6601, ext. 3155

Janine Ivings
Senior Communications Advisor
905-845-6601, ext. 3005

Sign up for the town’s RSS feeds

to get information delivered right to your desktop.

Original source:

Oakville announces nominees for 2011 Community Spirit Awards