Nominees announced for the 2012 Community Spirit Awards

Tuesday, May 15, 2012 – for immediate release

Nominees announced for the 2012 Community Spirit Awards

Celebrating those residents, groups, organizations and businesses that make a positive impact on the community, the Town of Oakville is pleased to announce the nominees for the 11th Annual Community Spirit Awards.

Access Award – sponsored by MEDIchair Halton

Recognizes individuals, businesses or organizations that have made or are making a significant or ongoing voluntary contribution, beyond legislated requirements, to the well-being and advancement of people with disabilities. 

Stephen Cull
Pinegrove Public School (Al Barrett, Lisa Miali, Mikaela DeSilva, and Wynne Ann Huinink)

Arts Award – sponsored by The Oakville Beaver

Recognizes an individual or organization that, through their volunteerism, has contributed to nurturing and enhancing the arts in Oakville.

David Foster
Jean Grieve
Chloe Shackelton

Environmental Award – sponsored by Tim Hortons

Recognizes an individual or organization whose outstanding voluntary contribution of environmental stewardship has helped to enhance or protect Oakville’s environment.

Nora and Dan Fulcher
Blake Poland

Group Volunteer Award – sponsored by Sun Life Financial

Recognizes a group of three or more individuals who have come together to volunteer their time toward a shared goal/activity or event involving leadership, innovation and creativity. Activities or events can benefit all ages. 

Enza Natural Health Centre and Day Spa
Halton Food For Thought
Halton Unit Canadian Cancer Society, Transportation Volunteers
Walls of Hope

Heritage and History Award – sponsored by Genworth Financial Canada

Recognizes an individual or organization that has made an outstanding contribution to Oakville’s heritage and history by aiding in the preservation and celebration of Oakville’s natural, built and cultural heritage.

George Chisholm

Individual Volunteer Award – sponsored by Paradiso Restaurant

Recognizes an individual who has made an outstanding volunteer contribution towards improving the well-being of Oakville residents of any age group.

Cheryl Kozak
Sera Mansueto
Niki McLaughlin
George Murray
Bryan Pryde
Bob Trillia

Senior Award – sponsored by Sunrise Senior Living

Recognizes a senior (65 years and older) or group that has made an outstanding voluntary contribution to the Oakville community.

Darlene Cox
Colin Woodcock

Youth Award – sponsored by RBC Royal Bank

Recognizes a youth individual or group (18 years and under) that has made positive contributions towards enriching Oakville’s quality of life.

Oakville Trafalgar Student Volunteers High School Lunch Buddies Club
Youth Alpha Leadership Team

Buy your tickets for Community Spirit Awards

The 11th Annual Community Spirit Awards will be held on Wednesday, June 13, 2012 at the Oakville Conference and Banquet Centre. Tickets are $30 and can be purchased by calling 905-338-4250. Each award recipient will receive an original art piece created specifically for the Community Spirit Awards by Sheridan Institute of Technology and Advanced Learning student Vanesa Trillia.

For more information, visit the Community Spirit Awards page.


For more information contact

Nancy Beddoe
Steering Committee Chair
905-845-6601, ext. 3976

Kimberly Moser
Senior Communications Advisor
905-845-6601, ext. 3096

Sign up for the town’s RSS feeds

to get information delivered right to your desktop.


Nominees announced for the 2012 Community Spirit Awards