Lee Grant appointed as new Fire Chief

Tuesday, December 06, 2011 – for immediate release

Lee Grant appointed as new Fire Chief

Following an extensive national search, Lee Grant has been appointed fire chief for the Town of Oakville. Lee Grant has been a deputy fire chief in Oakville since 2008 and has been acting fire chief since June 2011. He assumes his new role immediately.

“Town Council is pleased to welcome Chief Grant to this position and we look forward to working with him,” Mayor Rob Burton said. “This was a competitive recruitment process and the town is confident Chief Grant has the skills and experience to continue to provide first class emergency and fire protection service to our community.”

Chief Grant brings over 31 years of experience to his new role. He began his career as a firefighter with the City of Peterborough in 1980 and worked his way through the ranks of the city’s fire service with progressive responsibilities as fire prevention officer, chief fire prevention officer and fire chief. During his 13 years as fire chief for the City of Peterborough, Grant managed the 2002 and 2004 Peterborough flood disasters and led the city’s emergency recovery team. He also headed the team that provided emergency accommodation for 132 Kashechewan evacuees during the 2005 drinking water crisis.

“Oakville has an exceptional team of firefighters and I’m proud to work with them,” Chief Grant said. “It’s an honour to accept this appointment.”

Fire and rescue services in the town are delivered by 213 full-time personnel. The Oakville Fire department is staffed 24 hours a day, 365 days a year to ensure the safety of Oakville residents and visitors. The Oakville Fire department operates from seven station locations as well as the Oakville Training Campus for Emergency Excellence.


Media contact

Gisèle Shaw
Manager, Corporate Communications
Town of Oakville
905-845-6601, ext. 3166

Sign up for the town’s RSS feeds

to get information delivered right to your desktop.

Original post: 

Lee Grant appointed as new Fire Chief