Council to consider restructured $200 million contribution request for new hospital

Public invited to contact councillors to share their views before April 19, 2010, Council meeting
 
Oakville, April 8, 2010 – For Immediate Release
Council will continue debate on Halton Healthcare Services (HHS) request for a $200 million contribution to the new hospital at its April 19, 2010, meeting. Town staff has proposed a restructured contribution consisting of $130 million due at the time of Substantial Completion of the hospital in late 2014 or early 2015, $40 million towards life cycle costs that would be paid out over 30 years, and a final commitment to consider funding an additional $30 million if required at the time of closing. Staff did not recommend that any contingency funding be included in the town’s commitment. This recommendation would guarantee that the project would go forward under the Province of Ontario’s alternative financing and procurement model (AFP), including a provincial commitment to fund 90 per cent of the eligible construction costs.

“This is the most significant financial decision that any Oakville Council has ever faced, and we continue to want to provide every opportunity for the public to share their views,” Mayor Rob Burton said. “We know the majority of our residents believe a new, larger hospital is a necessity for our growing community but they are concerned about the cost. That is why it is so important that the town has established an affordability cap for its contribution.”

Mayor Burton also invited the public to contact him or any councillor before April 19, 2010, to share their views. See the list of contact information below.

“Members of the public are often surprised that they can just pick up the phone and call me, or email me, directly,” Mayor Burton noted. “Being accessible is an essential part of my job. I learn so much by hearing directly from residents and businesses.”

Members of the public wishing to make a delegation to Council can do so at the Council meeting on April 19, 2010, by contacting the town clerk at 905-845-6601, ext. 4235 before noon on the day of the meeting.

In December 2009, Halton Healthcare Services requested a contribution of $200 million (+/- a 15 per cent contingency) from the town to complete its local share plan to help fund the new Oakville hospital. Findings from a formal public consultation process that included online, written and telephone surveys and a formal public meeting in early February were presented to Council on March 1. To learn more about the hospital funding decision, visit the new Oakville hospital web page.

-30-

Media contact:
Jane Courtemanche
Director, Strategy, Policy and Communications
905-845-6601, ext. 3038
jcourtemanche@oakville.ca

Contact Information

Mayor
Rob Burton
905-338-4173
mayor@oakville.ca

Town Councillors

Ward 1
Ralph Robinson
905-827-7659
rrobinson@oakville.ca

Ward 2
Cathy Duddeck
905-815-6003
cduddeck@oakville.ca

Ward 3
Mary Chapin
905-338-8797
mchapin@oakville.ca

Ward 4
Roger Lapworth
289-837-1346
rlapworth@oakville.ca

Ward 5
Marc Grant
905-815-6001
mgrant@oakville.ca

Ward 6
Max Khan
905-845-6601
mkhan@oakville.ca

Regional and Town Councillors

Ward 1
Alan Johnston
905-825-9586
ajohnston@oakville.ca

Ward 2
Fred Oliver
905-849-5669
foliver@oakville.ca

Ward 3
Keith Bird
905-844-5571
kbird@oakville.ca

Ward 4
Allan Elgar
416-709-0082
allan@elgar.ca

Ward 5
Jeff Knoll
905-815-6000
jknoll@oakville.ca

Ward 6
Tom Adams
905-849-7915
tadams@oakville.ca


Sign up for the town’s RSS feeds

to get information delivered right to your desktop.

Originally posted here:  

Council to consider restructured $200 million contribution request for new hospital